Monday, July 19, 2010

Move a Site to a New Domain Without Affecting Google Ranking and SEO

It takes quiet a lot of effort and time to gain higher ranking in Google search engine results. Now if you want to move your site to the new domain, you can't afford to loose the rank gained in Google search results. So below are the few tips which can be helpful to you to transfer your site to new domain without loosing the Google ranking.

Suppose to be planning to move the site to a new domain may be to re-brand or re-design it, this can be done are two easy steps: first move your site to new domain and second launch the redesign. Thus there is smooth flow from old site to new site, and the visitors of the site even don't feel something unusual about it. Also following a step-wise process make it easy to troubleshoot if any unexpected errors occur.


How to Attain a Higher Website Ranking in Google!


You can use 301 redirect codes to show that your page has been permanently moved to new location. You can use this to transfer the site completely to new domain. This will help to make the search engines and the users aware that the site's location is changed completely. And if possible we recommend you to just transfer a small section of the site and then check whether all the redirects are working well or not, and then transfer the whole site.

Never ever try to redirect all the pages of the old site to the home page of the new site. This probably will avoid a "Page Not Found" error, but will harness the user's experience with the site. Just make sure that all the pages of the the old site link properly to the page having similar content on the new site. Also going for page-to-page redirect will help you to maintain the Google search engine ranking gained by the page.


Leverage the Power of LinkedIn to Improve Your Google Ranking


Also check that all your external and internal links are working well. Contact all the web-masters who have a link to your site and ask them to set their link to your new site. If this is not feasible option then have a check that all your incoming links are directed to new domain. Also have a similar check for internal links that all are proper and pointing to right page. You can use a third party tool to check there are no broken links in your new site. To prevent any confusion between your old site and new site, retain your older domain for at least 180 days.

Use the "change of address" tool of Google web-master to make them aware of the new site. Also verify the ownership of the new site by using the "add the site" tool of Google web-master. Also have a "Sitemap" of your new site generated and submit it to Google, to make it aware of the new links and pages.Once this is done, you need to check whether all is running well or not. You can use the Google web-master tool to verify that all is working as per the structure or not.


How to Get a Good Ranking on Google


You can have a look at the web-crawlers and check that whether there is proper redirect 301 from your old site or not? Whether is there any "page not found" error displayed in the new site? Also if you have the sitemap of the new site submitted to Google, you can have a look at the "Sitemap Detail Page" to see what all pages are indexed and crawled.

Thus, moving a site to new domain is not that tough. Having gone through the above advice you can easily do it for yourself now. Also there are various free third-party tools available that can assist you in your work and make it simpler. Still if you have any queries, you can post it in the form of comment to this and we will respond to it as soon as possible.
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Friday, July 9, 2010

How Much is a Top Google Ranking Worth to Your Online Business?

Ever wondered how valuable a top Google spot is to your online business? Here's a guide to help you find out...

1. Choose your top keyphrases

First you need to know which keywords you're going to look at. Choose the top two or three key phrases that are relevant for your business. Then go and visit the Google Keyword Tool (Google it) and type in your keyphrase. For this example I will use 'hedge trimming'.

Your match type should be set to 'exact'. If it isn't, select it and run the query again. The results is sorted by relevance, showing you other similar keyphrases. You may want to take note of some of these for future reference.

Click 'Global Monthly Search Volume' to sort the results by popularity. For 'hedge trimming' you can now see that the top two queries are 'hedge trimming' and 'hedge trimming tools', both with 2,400 searches globally per month. If you're an international business, then this is the audience for the keyphrase in question.

If you're a local business, based in the UK for example, then you need to look at the 'Local Search Volume' results (try sorting by these instead). The process is exactly the same, and for our query the top results are 'hedge trimming' with 590 local searches, and 'hedge trim' with 28 searches per month.

You want to focus on a phrase with a fair amount of traffic. Both the results mentioned have fairly low search volume. Anything less than 5,000 searches per month is fairly low, although if your business operates in a niche area this may be fine.

Ideally you should focus on keywords with over 5,000 searches per month, although as you get higher and higher you will notice competition becomes fiercer. Scroll a little further down the Google results page and you'll see a list of 'additional keywords to be considered'.

Consider whether any of these are relevant AND popular enough to offer you a good audience. Choose a few, and then decide which are also not so popular that they will be hugely competitive. For the sake of argument we will choose 'long reach hedge trimmer', which offers a global audience of 9,900 visitors per month. This is our keyphrase.

2. Work out the value of traffic to your site

Conversion

This is fairly straightforward, but requires some attention to figures. First of all, you need your conversion rate. This is essentially the %age of your site visitors who turn into customers.

Let's say you have an average of 10,500 visits per month, and you also know that you had 200 sales last month through the internet.

Conversion = (Sales / Visits) x 100%
Conversion = (10,500 / 200) x 100%

Conversion = 1.9% / For every 100 visits you will get 1.9 customers

Average order value - This is simply the total value of online sales divided by the number of online sales. Let's say the 200 sales mentioned previously made you £18,000.

Average order value = total sales revenue / number sales
Average order value = £18,000 / 200

Average order value (gross) = £90

Here you should also consider your margin. For the business in question we know that for every £100 of sales, 30% is our profit margin. The other 70% of the cost may be spent on delivery, premises, salaries and all the other business overheads.

Average order value (net) = £90 x 30%

Average order value (net) = £27

Value of traffic - As we have already discovered, for every 100 visits, you will get 1.9 customers. 1 customer is worth £27, so 1.9 customers is worth 1.9 x £27 which is £51.30.

100 visits is worth £51.30 to your business

3. Work out the value of each Google spot

This Cornell University Study shows the % of people who clicked on each google link on a typical results page. The results for Natural traffic are as follows...

- Position 1. 56.36%
- Position 2. 13.45%
- Position 3. 9.82%
- Position 4. 4.00%
- Position 5. 4.73%
- Position 6. 3.27%

You know that the total audience for your keyphrase is 9,900 visitors per month. Through your website one customer is worth £27, so 100% of the Google traffic is worth £267,300. And broken down spot by spot, Google search rankings are worth the following to your business (per month)

- Position 1. £150,650
- Position 2. £35,952
- Position 3. £26,249
- Position 4. £10,692
- Position 5. £12,643
- Position 6. £8,741

You should be in the habit of tracking all these metrics for your business. What you measure, you can control. Keep track of visitors, conversion and average order value and you will be better equipped to improve on past performance. Keep a list of the top keyphrases as relevant to your business, and use calculations like those above to decide what to optimise your site for.
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Google is known as being the most popular and most important search engine on the internet today. Webmasters are constantly looking for ways to improve their search engine rankings on Google. So how does Google rank your site? There are many tips and tricks that you can use to assist you in getting a top Google rank

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